Rippled textile flag of Canada close up

About Canada

Canada is a federation composed of ten provinces and three territories, which may be grouped into regions: Western Canada, Central Canada, Atlantic Canada, and Northern Canada (the latter consists of the three territories Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut).

Provinces have more autonomy than territories and each has its own provincial or territorial symbols. The provinces are responsible for most of Canada’s social programs: health care, education, and welfare.

Provinces & Territories – British Columbia – Alberta – Saskatchewan – Manitoba – Ontario – Quebec – New Brunswick – Nova Scotia –Prince Edward Island – Newfoundland and Labrador – North-West Territories – Nunavut – Yukon Territory